Entomology

EARTHWORM AND JAR

Earthworms
mud and
the hose
A tin pie
pan
I didn’t
need much
to examine
study
and love

One jar
one worm
A lifetime
of charm
Insects
Entomology
Science
Biology
all became
clear
What have
we here?

My jar
your cage
My hose
your fate
I capture
you
heart
and soul
I study
you hard
then release

How old
are you?
I am four
years of
age
but I know
I should
examine
and look
you over
no matter
the time
or the date

Digging
new holes
Watering
dry dirt
Saving your
life
Placing
you
back into
your soil
home
you are safe
I am not

If only people
had been
this kind
to me
Some of
you know
exactly
who the
fuck
you are
And I
still love
you
even from here
Thank you
for saving me

Won’t forget
Can’t forget
how you
shaped me
earthworm
fresh soil
blue skies
loud voices
fighting
Find another
same process
don’t listen
to fear
rising
inside me

It’s
insects
and life
on earth
I love
to this day
Add in
a dash
of good
friends
This is
my thanks

I hear your
voices
still
I see your
faces
and
smiling eyes
I am here
I escaped
my own jar
they put
me in
Grateful
and glad
to be
Free

I am finally
free of them
My jar
your cage
My hose
your fate
I capture
you
heart
and soul
I study
you hard
then release
you to fate

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

