Catch & Release

Last look at Huntington Beach Last Trip Home

five more hours
the weekend
will begin
for me here
in the East
still homesick
for the West
dry lovely
sun and heat
the sound
of the waves
PCH top speed
strips with
sauce in
the sand
and the view

finally Friday
can’t go
to the beach
want to
five hours
from me now
not twenty
minutes
like it was
for half
my life

such loss
who knew
I am
a transplant
my heart
lies on
the West Coast
cannot adjust
it’s buried
in the sand
at Huntington Beach
sometimes Venice
or Dana Point
I dig it out
when I visit
my home

finally Friday
can’t go
to the beach
want to
five hours
from me now
not twenty
minutes
like it was
for half
my life

For now
I’ve made
a nature preserve
in Virginia
my new
special place
there are
ponies birds
and oysters
good food
red knots
and the
horseshoe crabs
stingrays that
some people
fish for

finally Friday
can’t go
to the beach
want to
five hours
from me now
not twenty
minutes
like it was
for half
my life

I make them
cut the hook
throw baby
sharks and rays
back into
the sea
cruelty on display
for everyone
gotta eat they say
I am
the first one
to speak up
pointing out
lovely sea
creatures
can’t breathe

catch and release
fishing for
food that isn’t

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

